What is the NDIS?

National disability insurance scheme

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is the new way of providing support for people with disability, their families and carers in Australia.

The NDIS will provide about 460,000 Australians under the age of 65 with a permanent and significant disability with the reasonable and necessary supports they need to live an ordinary life.

As an insurance scheme, the NDIS takes a lifetime approach, investing in people with disability early to improve their outcomes later in life. By supporting people with disability achieve their goals, including independence, community involvement, employment and wellbeing. Supports may include personal care and support, access to the community, therapy services and essential equipment.

Who is eligible?  

To be eligible for the NDIS you will need to meet the age, residency, and disability or early intervention access requirements.

Eligibility depends on several factors including:
Disability requirement: you will be assessed based on the impact of your disability on functional capacity. Age: you have to be aged between 0-65 years old – if you’re already enrolled, once you turn 65, you can choose to continue with the NDIS.

You do not need to be registered with Disability Services, or any other Government department, to participate in the NDIS.

Check now to see if your eligible for the NDIS?